• Home
  • Recipe For Reading The Alphabet Series Books, Volume 1, Set of 18 Titles

Recipe For Reading The Alphabet Series Books, Volume 1, Set of 18 Titles

Item #: 9780838887516

Read to succeed! Get your students on track with reading and phonics skills with these 18 books. This is Volume 1 (the first) of The Alphabet Series Books designed to apply the concepts learned from Recipe For Reading Workbooks 2 and 3 (sold separately).

$99.49 $69.49
Free Shipping Ineligible: Details

School Specialty Shipping Policy

Items Shipped Within the Contiguous 48 United States

Free Shipping Eligible Items

  • Free shipping and handling on eligible supply orders of $49 or more. Free shipping calculation is based on the subtotals of eligible items, after any additional discounts are applied.
  • For subtotals less than $49, the shipping and handling charge is $9.95.

Free Shipping Ineligible Items

  • Shipping and handling charges are 15% of the subtotal of the items, after any discounts are applied, with a $9.95 minimum charge.

Free Shipping Ineligible Items

  • Shipping and handling charges are 15% of the subtotal of the items, after any discounts are applied, with a $99 minimum charge. If the subtotal is greater than $1,000, please e-mail freight_quote@schoolspecialty.com for a freight quote.

*Note: Individually negotiated shipping policies will override the standard shipping policy. See Full Details

Items Shipped to Hawaii, Alaska and International

See our Hawaii & Alaska Shipping Policy and International Shipping Policy for details.
In Stock - Typically Ships Within 2-3 Days
Add to Cart
This first volume of 18 vocabulary controlled book selections by Frances Bloom and Mary Geiger enables students to apply their phonics skills in context. Each book helps emergent and struggling readers to practice key phonics skills while also simultaneously reading motivating, engaging stories. The stories (labeled 1 to 18) also increase in difficulty as the lessons progress, helping students practice target words and review sounds and sight words.

These Volume 1 storybooks correspond to the first third of the lessons in the Recipe For Reading teacher manual (sold separately). This set reviews: consonant sounds, consonant-vowel-consonant words (short vowels), consonant digraphs, two-syllable compound words, doubling rule for ff-ll-ss-zz, plural words, sight word recognition, automaticity/fluency, and beginning comprehension.

These readers are a part of the Recipe For Reading Series, a comprehensive, multisensory, phonics-based reading program that presents a skill sequence and lesson structure designed for beginning, at-risk, or struggling readers.Recommended for developmental/beginning readers in Grades K to 3 or for intervention/struggling readers in Grades 1 to 6.
  • These Alphabet Series Readers provide reading practice geared to the phonogram presentation with target words, sounds, sight words, comprehension through personal writing responses, and more
  • Fictional stories with black-and-white illustrations are engaging and will help students stay motivated to master text and key phonics concepts
  • The Series 1 books (sequentially numbered 1 to 18) correspond to lessons in Student Workbooks 1 and 2 (each sold separately) and cover consonants, short vowels, consonant digraphs, two-syllable compound words, ff/ll/ss/zz, and more
  • Complement this Volume 3 emergent reader series with prior Volumes 1 and 2 (each sold separately) for the full 39-book set
Set of 18 Readers Include The Following Titles:
  • Book 1: Oops! I See a Cat!
  • Book 2: Tom at the Dam
  • Book 3: Tim the Hog
  • Book 4: Tim and Cal
  • Book 5: Kim and Her Cat
  • Book 6: Jam for Hap and Pam
  • Book 7: Chip Had a Hut
  • Book 8: Gum for a Pup
  • Book 9: A Big Job
  • Book 10: A Hot Rod in a Rut
  • Book 11: A Fin in the Fog
  • Book 12: Get Up, Meg!
  • Book 13: Fun in the Sun
  • Book 14: Tish the Fish
  • Book 15: A Wish for a Yak
  • Book 16: Did Max Quit?
  • Book 17: Yipyap, Too
  • Book 18: My Day (by Meg)

Recipe for Reading®

  • Students gain essential reading skills with an emphasis on phonological awareness, phonics, and fluency
  • Builds decoding and fluency skills in context as they read engaging stories at their own skill level
  • Struggling learners are better able to retain new concepts through multisensory instruction

Intervention Strategies for Struggling Readers

Recipe for Reading is a research-based, comprehensive, multisensory, phonics-based reading program that is designed for beginning readers in grades K through 3 or at-risk and struggling readers in grades 1 through 6. This systematic program incorporates visual, auditory, and kinesthetic techniques to teach and continually reinforce phonetic concepts. The Recipe for Reading curriculum is ideal for differentiated instruction in a variety of settings—inclusion, one-on-one, or whole class.

Teacher Benefits

  • Provides direct, multisensory instruction integrating visual, auditory, and kinesthetic modalities
  • Research-based instruction supports all five essential pillars of Reading First (phonological awareness, phonics, comprehension, vocabulary, and fluency)
  • Accompanying storybooks contain controlled vocabulary and follow the Recipe for Reading sequence, allowing students to apply phonics skills in context
  • Teacher’s manual provides detailed lessons for every phonetic skill in a carefully structured scope and sequence

For More Information

  • Contact a sales consultant for more information on how you can best utilize this program in your school or district. Our sales consultants are your resource for product presentations, workshops, and product review samples.